Built in 1924, the Frances Carlton, located at 1221-1227 Palm Avenue, began as furnished rental apartments and later served as the state of Florida's first cooperative apartment building. It now stands as well appointed condominiums in downtown Sarasota.
Designed by Tampa architect Francis James, and Sarasota architect Alex Browning, the Frances Carlton was built for Carlton Teate, a prominent downtown businessman. For many years, Teate was the owner and operator of the General Electric Store located on upper Main Street in downtown Sarasota.
The selection of Alex Browning, a member of the original Scottish colony that settled Sarasota, as co-architect for the Frances Carlton secured the building's place in Sarasota's history. Alex Browning arrived in Sarasota as a young man in 1885. Before coming here, he apprenticed for three years with an architect in Glasgow.
Because of his training, Browning was quickly called upon to design some of the larger homes in the new town of Sarasota. John Hamilton Gillespie, later Sarasota's first mayor, had Browning design his home. Later Browning worked as an assistant to architect J.A Wood on the construction of Henry Plant's Tampa Bay Hotel, today's University of Tampa.
Browning returned to Sarasota in 1919 and in 1924 received his certificate to practice architecture from the Florida State Board of Architecture. One of his earliest projects as a licensed architect was the Frances Carlton Apartments, which began construction in August of 1924.
The plan of the building was unique to Sarasota, consisting of four blocks, the center flanks of each block connected by a stair hyphen. Both the north and south building elevations received equal design emphasis resulting in a balanced composition.
According to the Sarasota Times, "every possible convenience was offered including icebox openings on the exterior of the kitchen so that the ice could be delivered from the hallway, the promise of a telephone connection and speaking tubes to be located in each apartment, garbage receptacles and the novel inclusion of a roof garden."
In 1952, the apartment building was transferred to its new owners creating Florida's "first cooperative," according to Edmund J. Flynn, a nationally recognized authority on the subject who also purchased a unit at the Frances Carlton. Typical units consisted of a combination entrance hall and dining nook, a living room with adjoining dressing room, a bedroom, combined sun porch and guest room, and a bath room with tub and shower. They sold for $8,000.
In 1984, the Frances Carlton was listed in the National Register of Historic Places for its architectural significance and its representation of the work of local architect and Scottish colonist, Alex Browning. Today the building remains a wonderful example of the Mediterranean Revival Style of architecture that has been carefully rehabilitated and well maintained. Even more importantly, the Frances Carlton holds a window to our past.
You must be logged in to leave a comment.
Today the name Bee Ridge generally brings to mind a seven-lane highway of vehicles speeding between U.S. 41 and I-75. It hasn’t always been that way.Read More »
What tourist attraction in Sarasota County promised you “Everything under the sun?” It was called Floridaland. Floridaland West, Inc. announced on April 3, 1964, that an extensive tourist attraction center was going to be built on 50 acres just south of Blackburn Point Road, between U.S. 41 and Sarasota Bay.Read More »